Weekly Want: Geeky Movie T-shirts

I thought it might be fun to do a post each week that appeals to the rapid consumer in all of our little heart of geek hearts. To that end, I’m going to comb the internets each week to find cool stuff that I personally as a rapid geek am drooling to buy but also that I think you, as my fellow geeks, will be interested in.

Now, one of my claims to fame is my t-shirt collection. It’s true, ask the other nerdgirls. It is Epic (yeah with a capital E, wut?) And many of the staples of said t-shirt collection are movie-based shirts. So, here, now, I’m going to give you a rundown of my top five Geek t-shirts. Some of these I own. Some I’m only drooling over as I eagerly await my next paycheck.

I shall explain my criteria for what makes a truly excellent movie t-shirt. First of all, it should not have just the movie poster on it. That’s too easy. That is not for the true, die-hard movie buff. Famous quotes are OK, but the better shirts are just referential. These require inside, intimate knowledge of the movies. These also get you more points with fellow nerds because it’s like being part of a secret club. Getting the obscure movie reference is like knowing the secret handshake. You are sister-geeks in the Great Sisterhood of Geekdom. Which is why this shirt, which totally could have made my list, is instead being called out for suckage:

Seriously? You have the referential thing nailed and then you blow it at the very end by saying what movie you’re referencing. T-Shirt FAIL. Totally.

Anyway, just had to get that off my chest…so now, let’s get to the good stuff. The best of the best when it comes to Geeky Movie T-shirts. Let the t-shirt bonanza begin!!!

5. The Sunnydale Reunion T-Shirt: Meets all the criteria. Referential without giving the game away to the uninitiated. Good color. Cute graphic. FTW.

4. Hoverboards Need Land: Another from one of my fav t-shirt purveyors Snorgtees.com. It’s a famous quote but that still doesn’t mean people will get the reference. (My mom didn’t. *headdesk*)

Snorg Tees really speak to my movie buff soul like no other online retail establishment. I have several of their shirts (including this other BTTF shirt over here.) And I want many, many more of them. Case in point….

3. Save Endor. Just look at this shirt. Do I need to say more? LOVE. IT.

2. Because this wouldn’t be a complete list without a Star Trek reference, my favorite of the many “Red Shirt” t-shirts on offer:

1. And now, because I believe in saving the best for last, here is the Ultimate Movie Buff t-shirt. Spoilt. This shirt is the ultimate proof of my rule that t-shirts should force people to be in the know on movies to be Truly Awesome. This t-shirt is the ultimate test of that. Also, the graphic design on this kicks ass.

Here, have a close up so you can appreciate this better…

Do you have a favorite geeky movie t-shirt? Point me towards it. I’m always trying to expand my collection.

Ta,

Beth Matthews

One Trackback to “Weekly Want: Geeky Movie T-shirts”

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

